Hurley’s Media Sales

Pigs fly past foes to take Alex Alexander Championship title

The Queensgate Pigs Trotters on Saturday (20 February) beat the Fidelity Cayman Storm 67-27 to put the finishing touches on winning the 2016 Alex Alexander Championship.

The Pigs now have won the title for three-straight seasons.

This year, they finished the campaign undefeated, averaging roughly 50 points per game. Much of its offensive attack came from Keswick Wright, who finished as the tournament’s top try-scorer, with 12 in six matches.

The John Doak Iguanas finished second in the standings, followed by the Advance Fire Buccaneers and the Storm.


Here is the all-tournament team: 15 Killian Everitt (Storm), 14 Kewick Wright (Pigs), 13 Shaun McDermott (Pigs), 12 Dano O’Connor (Iguanas), 11 Phil Parker (Storm) 10 Morgan Shelver (Buccaneers), 9 Neil Montgomery (Pigs), 8 Chris kennedy (Iguanas), 7 Ben Blair (Buccaneers), 6 Al Lum (Pigs), 5 Yoshi Regnard (Buccaneers), 4 Paul Smith (Storm), 3, Phil Fourie (Buccaneers), 2. Andre Ormond (Iguanas), 1. Dan Bond (Buccaneers). 16. Conor Brady (Buccaneers), 17.Peter de Vere (Iguanas), 18. Mick Greaves (Storm), 19. Saviriano Tabuaniwere (Buccaneers), 20. Sam Anderson (Pigs), 21. Dave Stringer (Buccaneers), 22 Clive O’Mahony (Pigs), 23. Abdul Patterson (Pigs).


About the author

Kevin Morales

Kevin Morales

Cayman 27 News Director Kevin Morales is an award-winning journalist with more than 12 years of experience. Kevin is a Milwaukee, Wis., native. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism in 2005 from the University of Minnesota. He's a proud father and a loyal fan of the Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Bucks and U of M Golden Gophers.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment
Tanya’s Kitchen
Eclipze – Face & Body
Kirk Freeport – August 2019
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: