Hurley’s Media Sales
News Politics

Collins to lead Cayman Islands Legal Practitioners Association

Attorney David Collins takes over the reins of the Cayman Islands Legal Practitioners Association.
Lawyers met this week to elect the executive for the newly minted association.
Until now an interim council was in place.
Both the Cayman Islands Law Society and the Caymanian Bar Association merged last year to form the new lawyers’ body.
Now that an executive is in place, the association is expected to tackle key issues, the uppermost being the long-awaited Legal Practitioners’ Bill.

Read the official release below:

Results of election of CILPA Council 2019
The Elections Committee of the Cayman Islands Legal Practitioners Association (CILPA) is pleased to announce that, following the CILPA Council elections held on 8 July 2019 at its First Annual General Meeting, the Council of CILPA will comprise:

Elected “A” Members:

Name Number of votes
Richard Barton 279
David Ritch 270

Elected “B” Members:

Name Number of votes
Erik Bodden 261
David Collins 261
Wanda Ebanks 259
Cline Glidden 239
Alasdair Robertson 238

In accordance with the Articles of Association each elected member will hold office for a two year term.

There were a total of 376 valid ballot papers received, a return rate of approximately 70%.

Congratulations to those elected and thank you to all candidates for their commitment to CILPA and willingness to participate in the election.

The Council are also pleased to announce that in accordance with the Articles of Association, the Council earlier today elected the following as Officers of Council:

President: David Collins 
Secretary: Wanda Ebanks
Treasurer: Erik Bodden

David Collins, new elected President commented “The very high turnout for the first AGM and the contested election that was held bodes well for the future of the legal profession. I and my fellow council members understand that the hard work begins now and look forward to engaging and co-opting our fellow members to help drive forward CILPA on behalf of the profession. I would also like to thank the Elections Committee led by John Meghoo, the interim Secretary, Huw Moses and their team of articled clerks and students for managing the election process so well. Finally I would also like to thank the members of the interim council, in particular Neil Timms, James Bagnall and Huw Moses, for all their hard work in guiding the association from its inception 8 months ago to today”

CILPA Elections Committee
10 July 2019

About the author

Reshma Ragoonath

Reshma Ragoonath

Reshma Ragoonath is a Trinidadian journalist with 18 years media experience with a strong background in print with her most recent stint at The Cayman Reporter. She has a BA in Mass Communications, as well as, an Associate degree in Journalism and Public Relations.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment
Kirk Freeport – July 2019
Tanya’s Kitchen
Eclipze – Face & Body
%d bloggers like this: