Hurley’s Media Sales

CONCACAF names Champions League award winners

Http iframes are not shown in https pages in many major browsers. Please read this post for details.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) has named the award winners for the 2015/16 Champions League season.

The Golden Glove Award for the top goalkeeper was presented to Hugo Gonzalez Duran from Club America. Gonzalez started three of the four group stage matches in addition to both quarterfinals and Finals, helping lead Club America to the title.

The Jarritos Golden Boot was awarded to Emanuel Alejandro Villa from Queretaro, the tournament’s top scorer with six goals.

Rubens Sambueza, the captain of Club America, provided seven assists during the course of the 2015/16 Champions League. He also added one goal and started nine games in earning the Golden Ball for the tournament’s top player.

Honduran Alberth Elis from Club Olimpia was named the Scotiabank Best Young Player. The 20-year-old scored two goals in group stage, and appeared in all four games for Club Olimpia. The forward is a rising national team star and was one of the standouts at the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship.

The Fair Play Award was presented to Club Queretaro, for fair play on the field and excellent collaboration off of it during the course of the tournament.

About the author

Kevin Morales

Kevin Morales

Cayman 27 News Director Kevin Morales is an award-winning journalist with more than 12 years of experience. Kevin is a Milwaukee, Wis., native. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism in 2005 from the University of Minnesota. He's a proud father and a loyal fan of the Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Bucks and U of M Golden Gophers.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment
Tanya’s Kitchen
Eclipze – Face & Body
Kirk Freeport – July 2019
%d bloggers like this: