Ice on Ice
Kaaboo – Tickets on Sale Now
Election News News

63 candidates emerge from Nominations Day

Nearly 21,000 eligible Caymanian voters across 19 electoral districts now know who they can choose from in the 24 May Cayman Islands General Elections.

A total of 63 candidates emerged from Wednesday’s (29 March) Nominations Day. 

Click here for the full list of candidates

Among the more intriguing story lines — the race in West Bay West. 

Cayman Democratic Party leader Hon. McKeeva Bush was that electoral district’s lone candidate for most of the day before independent Paul Rivers and Progressives candidate Daphne Orrett filed within the final hour before the nomination station closed. 

“The PPM will never allow me to run unopposed,” Mr. Bush told Cayman 27. “So I’m expected they’ll have their own hags around, yes.” 

Premier and Progressives party leader Hon. Alden McLaughlin took his time to file his nominations papers, eventually doing so in the Red Bay electoral district. Cayman 27 tried but was unsuccessful in securing an interview with Mr. McLaughlin during Nominations Day. He’ll run against Dr. Frank McField and Denniston Tibbetts, who is running on the CDP ticket. 

It’s a five-candidate race in George Town South, where independents Catherine Tyson, Paul Hurlston and Alric Lindsay join Progressives candidate Barbara Conolly and CDP candidate Mike Adam. 

In West Bay North, CDP’s Bernie Bush was among the first candidates to file their paperwork this morning. He’ll be fighting independents Sarah Orrett-Ebanks and Mervin Smith for that seat. 

West Bay Central candidate Capt. Eugene Ebanks also was among the earliest candidates to file. The CDP stalwart faces independent Katherine Ebanks-Wilks. 

“I’m ready to deal with it,” Mr. Ebanks said. “This time in our history is very challenging and I’m up for the fight.” 

West Bay South features four candidates, including CDP’s John Jefferson Jr., independents Burns Rankin and Laura Young as well as current Education and Labour Minister Hon. Tara Rivers. 

Progressives’ Joseph Hew was the lone candidate for much of the day in George Town North until CDP’s Pearlina McGaw-Lumsden and independent Karin Thompson filed late in the day. 

It’s a four-candidate race in George Town West, where independents Ellio Solomon and Dennie Warren Jr. join CDP member Jonathan Piercy and Progressives candidate David Wight. 

Independent Kenneth Bryan and Progressives candidate and current Finance Minister Hon. Marco Archer are the lone candidates for George Town Central. 

The race for George Town East is up to four candidates — independents Sharon Roulstone and Kenrick Webster along with CDP’s Tessa Bodden and Progressives’ Roy McTaggart. 

In Prospect, former MLA Lucille Seymour is set to run on the Progressives ticket. She’ll vye for the seat along with independents Matthew Leslie and Austin Harris Jr. 

All four Prospect candidates filed early in the day. They include Financial Services Minister and Progressives candidate Hon. Wayne Panton along with three independents — Mario Rankin, Raul Gonzalez Jr. and Alva Suckoo. 

Cayman’s two most populated electoral districts come in Bodden Town. 

Sports, Youth and Community Affairs Minister and Progressives candidate Hon. Osbourne Bodden joined the race for Bodden Town East, where he’ll run against CDP candidate Robert Bodden and independents Dwayne Seymour and Arnold Berry. 

In Bodden Town West, CDP’s Stafford Berry has filed along with Progressives candidate Maxine Bodden-Robinson and independents Gilbert McLean and Chris Saunders. 

It’s a four-candidate race in North Side, where independent incumbent Ezzard Miller will be challenged by fellow independents Justin Ebanks and Johany Ebanks along with Progressives candidate Ed Chisholm. 

George Town South leads the way with five candidates while West Bay South, George Town West, George Town East, Newlands, Bodden Town West, Bodden Town East and North side each have four candidates. 

See below for the full breakdown of candidates: 


Bush Bernie CDP
Orrett-Ebanks Sarah IND
Smith Mervin IND


Bush William McKeeva CDP
Orrett Daphne Louise Progressives
Rivers Paul Desmond IND




Ebanks-Wilks Katherine IND
Ebanks, Capt. Eugene CDP


Jefferson, Jr. John CDP
Rankin Burns IND
Young Laura IND
Rivers Tara IND


Hew Joseph Progressives
McGaw-Lumsden Pearlina CDP
Thompson Karin M. IND


Solomon Ellio Anthony IND
Piercy Jonathan Bardowell CDP
Wight David Charles Progressives
Warren, Jr. Dennie IND



Bryan Kenneth Vernon IND
Archer Marco Progressives


Tyson Catherine Rosita IND
Hurlston Paul Wendell IND
Adam Michael Thomas CDP
Lindsay Alric Jeremy IND
Conolly Barbara Elizabeth Progressives


Webster, Dr. Kenrick Herbert IND
McTaggart Roy Michael Progressives
Roulstone Sharon Elaine IND
Bodden Theresa Elizabeth CDP


McField, Dr. Frank IND
Tibbetts Denniston Leitch CDP
McLaughlin Alden Progressives


Leslie Matthew IND
Harris, Jr. Austin IND
Seymour Lucille Progressives


Eden Anthony IND
McTaggart Kent IND
Bodden Heather Progressives


Rankin Mario IND
Gonzalez, Jr. Raul IND
Suckoo, Jr. Alva Horatio IND
Panton Gurney Wayne Progressives


Berry Stafford CDP
Bodden-Robinson Maxine Progressives
McLean Gilbert Allan IND
Saunders Christopher Selvin IND


Bodden Osbourne Vendryes Progressives
Bodden Robert Anthony CDP
Seymour Dwayne Stanley IND
Berry Arnold Thomas IND


Ebanks Justin IND
Ebanks Johany IND
Miller Ezzard IND
Chisholm Edward Owen Progressives


Rankine Issac IND
McLean V. Arden IND
McLean, Jr. John B. IND


DaCosta Nickolas IND
Kirkconnell, III Moses Progressives
Moore Maxine Avon IND


O’Connor-Connolly Juliana Progressives
Dixon Rudolph Lenbergh IND

About the author

Kevin Morales

Kevin Morales

Cayman 27 News Director Kevin Morales is an award-winning journalist with more than 12 years of experience. Kevin is a Milwaukee, Wis., native. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism in 2005 from the University of Minnesota. He's a proud father and a loyal fan of the Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Bucks and U of M Golden Gophers.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment
Tanya’s Kitchen
Kirk Freeport – May
Clean Gas
Eclipze Generic

Subscribe Today

Please fill out the information below to Subscribe to Hurleys Media LTD. This will allow you to post comments on articles, get notifications on upcoming events and MORE!
Email address
Favorite Radio Station(s)
Spam free & Secure :)
%d bloggers like this: