Swimming: Eleven slated for 2019 CCCAN Championships

The Cayman Islands Aquatic Sports Association (CIASA) announced Wednesday (19 June) a team of eleven swimmers will represent the Cayman Islands at the Central American and Caribbean Swimming (CCCAN) Championships held 28 June to 2 July at the Barbados Aquatics Center in Wildey, Christ Church.

The team includes Will Sellars (SMS), Corey Frederick-Westerborg (SSC), Kaitlyn Sullivan (SMS),
Stephanie Royston (SSC), Harper Barrowman (SMS), Stefano Bonati (CBAC), Sarah Jackson (SSC), Alex Dakers (SSC) Lauren Hew (FSU), Zachary Moore (SSC) and Jake Bailey (SSC).

Age groups include Boys and Girls divisions of 11-12, 13-14, 15-17 and 18 & over. Cayman’s swimmers range from 12 to 18 years old.

“The swimmers are excited and it looks like it is going to be a fast meet,” Technical Director Bailey Weathers said in a press release. “There will be 493 swimmers from 28 countries in the pool, and 81 swimmers from 13 countries in open water”.

Last year, Team Cayman won 14 medals at the 2018 Central American and Caribbean Amateur Swimming Confederation (CCCAN) Championships, highlighted by a brilliant performance from 12-year old Jillian Crooks who won a Cayman Islands Aquatic Sports Association (CIASA) record nine individuals medals.

“Cayman has become a competitive force and a challenger to much bigger teams from bigger islands. With number one seeding in some races and podium position seeding in several others, Team Cayman is ready”, said CIASA PR Director Stephen Broadbelt in a press release.


Twenty eight countries will be represented at the swimming championships, including Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba,Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, México, Nicaragua, Panamá, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vicente and Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks
and Caicos and the US Virgin Islands.

(Back row, left to right – CBAC Coach Kirk Ermels, SMS Coach Darren Mew, Will Sellars, Corey Frederick-Westerborg, Kaitlyn Sullivan, Stephanie Royston, SMS Manager Terri Barrowman; Front row, left to right – Harper Barrowman, Stefano Bonati, Sarah Jackson, Alex Dakers)

Tags2019 cccan championships cccan

About the author

Jordan Armenise

Jordan Armenise

Jordan Armenise began his sports broadcasting journey with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats of the Canadian Football League (CFL). It was in this role where he was able to craft the immersive and enthusiastic approach to reporting, broadcasting and production you see here today in Cayman's sports community.

Jordan has also worked behind the scenes for a number of Canadian broadcasting & production companies such as CBC Sports, Cineflix Productions and Cream Productions.

Did he mention he was St. Clare of Assisi's 1994 Athlete of the Year?

Now dubbed 'The Sports Guy', Jordan relishes the role as Cayman 27 Sports Producer, where he can tell the stories of Cayman’s athletes. You can reach Jordan at or .

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Follow Us

Kirk Freeport – June 2019
Tanya’s Kitchen
Eclipze Generic
%d bloggers like this: